“Indeed the hou…

“Indeed the hour is coming, yes, has now come, that you will be scattered, each to his own, and will leave Me alone. And yet I am not alone, because the Father is with Me. These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (Jesus; John 16:32,33)

Jesus knows we will not have an easy path in this world.  But, He says, “be of good cheer, I have overcome the world”.  The Father was with Jesus just as He is with His children when they are experiencing difficulties.  Encouragement for today: you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you (Philippians 4:13). 

Suffering for Christ (1 Corinthians 11:22-33)

Are they Hebrews? So am I. Are they Israelites? So am I. Are they the seed of Abraham? So am I. 23 Are they ministers of Christ?—I speak as a fool—I am more: in labors more abundant, in stripes above measure, in prisons more frequently, in deaths often. 24 From the Jews five times I received forty stripes minus one. 25 Three times I was beaten with rods; once I was stoned; three times I was shipwrecked; a night and a day I have been in the deep; 26 in journeys often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils of my own countrymen, in perils of the Gentiles, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren; 27 in weariness and toil, in sleeplessness often, in hunger and thirst, in fastings often, in cold and nakedness— 28 besides the other things, what comes upon me daily: my deep concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I am not weak? Who is made to stumble, and I do not burn with indignation?

30 If I must boast, I will boast in the things which concern my infirmity. 31 The God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who is blessed forever, knows that I am not lying. 32 In Damascus the governor, under Aretas the king, was guarding the city of the Damascenes with a garrison, desiring to arrest me; 33 but I was let down in a basket through a window in the wall, and escaped from his hands.”

About Christian Apologetics Research of Nevada

Christian Topics. Evangelism, Apologetics and Discernment.
Quote | This entry was posted in Anxiety, Being Weak, Comfort, Courage, Daily Devotions, Dark Night of the Soul, Dependence on God, Do not Fear, Following Christ, God's Kindness, God's Love, God's Promises, Hope, Loneliness, Peace, Persecution, Rejection, Sorrow, Stay Strong, Strength, Suffering, The Tribulation, Truth, When People Disappoint Us, Why Does God Allow Evil and Suffering?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Indeed the hou…

  1. May says:

    I always long to sit up more ,spiritually, when i read this passage. The commitment and focus of paul, and the other apostles, when u come to think of it, was so great. It compels us to remember that the spread of the gospel is indeed serious serious business. Paul was never still, always moving, preaching, strategizing to win souls more in new places than in his local comfort zone…that is big big lesson for us..we should see it too as a great challenge. Have you told anyone about Jesus this week?9 this month? this year?Are you just too comfortable in your comfort zone.?…..

    Like

LEAVE A COMMENT HERE IF YOU WOULD LIKE. ANY ABUSIVE COMMENTS WILL BE REPORTED...

